Frontiers of Characterization and Metrology for Nanoelectronics (FCMN)

Where: Hilton Dresden, An der Frauenkirche 5, 01067 Dresden, Germany
When: April 14-16, 2015

From April 14th until April 16th 2015 the International Conference on Frontiers of Characterization and Metrology for Nanoelectronics (FCMN) was held in the Hilton hotel in Dresden. The focus of the meeting was the characterization technology needed for nanoelectronic materials and device research, development, and manufacturing. In total 141 people participated in the meeting from 11 countries, amongst which the Germany, USA, Japan and Korea. The tours to the state-of-the-art metrology facilities at Global Foundries and Fraunhofer IPMS-CNT attracted much attention.

Directly following this meeting, the 3rd Dresden Nanoanalysis Symposium was held on Friday April 17th.  A total of 81 attendees joined to listen to a variety of talks, from fundamental research to the industrial perspective. The winner of the poster competition was Sebastian Schneider from IFW Dresden with the Poster “Exploring the properties of individual nanomagnets: EMCD on FePt nanocubes”.

The posters and the presentations of the speakers are online available here:


Sponsors, Cooperating Partners, Committee, Speakers

Platinum Sponsors

  • Western Digital Corporation
  • Hysitron
  • Intel
  • FEI
  • Zeiss

Gold Sponsor

  • Globalfoundries

Cooperation Partners

  • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • Dresden Fraunhofer Cluster Nanoanalysis
  • Fraunhofer IKTS Dresden
  • Technische Universität Dresden
  • Innotec21

Committee Members

  • Amal Chabli, CEA-Leti
  • Luigi Colombo, TI
  • Michael Current, Current Scientific
  • Ajey Jacob, Global Foundries
  • Toshihiko Kanayama, AIST
  • Shifeng Lu, Micron
  • Ulrich Mantz, Zeiss
  • Lori S. Nye, Brewer Science, Inc.
  • Yaw Obeng, NIST
  • Lothar Pfitzner, Fraunhofer IISB
  • Sesh Ramaswami, Applied Materials
  • Erik Secula, NIST
  • George Thompson, Intel
  • Sandip Tiwari, Cornell University
  • Victor Vartanian, ISMI
  • Wilfried Vandervorst, IMEC
  • Usha Varshney, NSF

Committee Co-Chairs

  • David Seiler, NIST
  • Alain Diebold, College of Nanoscale Science and Engineering, SUNY Albany
  • Bob McDonald, formerly of Intel (Treasurer)
  • Zhiyong Ma, Intel
  • Ehrenfried Zschech, Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems

Invited Speakers

  • Bill Bottoms, Third Millennium Test Solutions, “Material Requirements for 3D IC and Packaging”
  • Andre Clausner, Fraunhofer IKTS, “Combined Nanoindentation and AFAM for Mechanical Characterization of Ultra Low-k Thin Films”
  • Peter Czurratis, PVA Tepla, “New Scanning Acoustic Microscopy technologies applied to 3D integration applications"
  • Jürgen Gluch, TU Dresden/Fraunhofer IKTS, “X-ray Tomography for Process Development and Failure Analysis”
  • Karen Henry (Intel) and Thomas Kelley (Cameca Instruments, Inc.), “Advances in Atom Probe Metrology”
  • Paul Ho, University of Texas, “Thermo-Mechanical Reliability of TSVs”
  • Joseph Kline, National Institute of Standards and Technology, “Overview of Status of CD-SAXS for High Throughput Measurements”
  • Reinhold Krause-Rehberg, University Halle, “Positron Annihilation Spectroscopy Measurements for Porosimetry Determination of Micro- and Meso-porous Systems”
  • Philippe Leray, Imec, “Metrology for Patterning”
  • Markus Löffler and Walter Weber, Technische Universität Dresden, “Element and Strain Analysis in Si Nanowires”
  • Steve Pennycook, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, “Probing Optical and Electronic Properties of Defects Through Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy and First-Principles Theory”
  • Sesh Ramaswami, Applied Materials, “Technology Requirement and Process Control Solutions”
  • Evan Reed, Stanford University, “Phase Change Properties and Strain Engineering in 2D Materials”
  • Jean-Luc Rouviere, CEA-Leti, “Strain Characterization at Nanoscale Using Electron Beam Based Techniques”
  • Frank Schwierz, TU-Ilmenau, “2D Materials Beyond Graphene for Future Electronics”
  • Thomas Silva, National Institute of Standards and Technology, “Characterization of Magnetic Nanostructures for STT-RAM Applications By Use Of Macro- and Micro-Scale Ferromagnetic Resonance”
  • Valeriy Sukharev, Mentor Graphics, “DFM and DFR Requirements for 3D Stacked Systems to Materials Data and Characterization Techniques”
  • Tuyen Tran, Intel, “Defect Inspection for Advanced Technology Nodes”
  • Paul van der Heide, Global Foundries, “CMOS Characterization/Metrology Challenges for the Lab to the Fab”
  • Wilfried Vandervorst, Imec, “Paradigm Shift in Metrology for Probing 3D-Structrures and Confined Volumes”
  • Kris Vanstreels, Imec, “Analytical Challenges and Solutions for Chip-Package Interaction”
  • Suresh Venkatesan, Global Foundries, “Wide Perspective on Today’s Semiconductor Industry”
  • Bob Westervelt, Harvard, “Imaging Electron Motion in Nanostructures”