Executive Board

The new cfaed Board was voted for by the cfaed General Assembly on 28 October 2019 and confirmed by the Rectorial Board on 19 November 2019


Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Marc Timme  


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Mikolajick


Prof. Dr. Stefan Mannsfeld



Portrait uta schneider

Operations Director

Dr. Uta Schneider


Executive Board 2012-2019

The cfaed Cluster's Executive Board during the DFG funding period comprised the Director, the Career Development Director, the Strategy Director, and the Operations Director.

The Director was responsible for the overall scientific progress and strategic direction of the Cluster, the implementation and effectiveness of all measures of the program and represented the Cluster in public, to the funding body, and within TU Dresden.

Portrait brigitte voit

Strategy Director

Prof. Dr. Brigitte Voit

The Strategy Director oversaw cfaed's underlying principle of the scientific exploratory and inspirational area.


Portrait Prof. Karl Leo

Career Development Director

Prof. Dr. Karl Leo

The Career Development Director governed and monitored the career development program and headed the International Postgraduate Program.

The Career Development Director's position was a rotational role. Prof. Karl Leo was elected as successor to Prof. Alexander Eychmüller. He took over  in March 2015.

Portrait uta schneider

Operations Director

Dr. Uta Schneider

The Operations Director headed the Cluster's Program Office and was therefore responsible for the central coordination, all organizational issues, administration of funds, and relation management especially to industry and university-partners.